A Gift

I have a little present here for you inside this tiny bottle ,so very small and blue.
please do not uncork it or everyting will get away.
I thought you might like your own summer’s day
to put it on away.

I’d be pleased if you didn’t ask why I gave this gift to you.
Don’t know myself , did it on a whim, as the thought came runnin’ through.
Thought it might make you happy in a summertime sort of way .
And I thought you might like your own summer’s day ,
to put it on away.

Now, can you read the writing on this tiny bottle wall?
I know it’s quite small but I can read it all.
It says… she who is a readin’ me and lookin’ at my side, might be interested at what lies inside.
it holds one breath of a butterfly, and
one ray from the sun, and
lots ‘n’ lots of laughter from little children’s fun.
So- don’t you dare uncork me
or everything will get away.
I’d like to hold on to my own summer’s day
……………to put it on away………

Thanks for the addition of this one Finnigan!  -Larken

5 Comments

Filed under songs

5 responses to “A Gift

  1. erin/chip

    i LOVE this song…to this day I sing it whenever I’m feeling nostalgic. My two year old hears it a lot at nap time! I always think of Suess when I sing it:)

  2. Michelle/Tiki

    CHIP! I know it has been almost 14 years, do you remember me? I can’t believe you have a child! Hope all is well with you and your family!

  3. Crayon

    Hi! Do you have the guitar chords for this song? Somehow along the way this page in my song book got lost and I would like to put it on away!

  4. Kristen

    Hi, I went to Girl Scout Camp Occoneechee in Lake Lure, NC as a kid and recall this song being written and tinkered with by a counselor there. I don’t remember her real name as all of the counselors used nicknames but she went by Gilmer. This would have been around 1991-92. She was my favourite counselor by far but left after that summer–said she was joining the Peace Corps. I’m pretty sure my memory in this regard is clear, but I’d be interested to know, if anyone here knows, if this song was written in the ’90’s by a Girl Scout camp counselor or if that was a convenient cover-story for a guitarist and singer who’d forgotten the words.

  5. K

    Does anybody know the guitar chords to this I can’t find them anywhere?

Leave a Reply

