Skeeters and the Bed Bugs

I woke up Sunday morning
And looked up on the wall
The skeeters and the bedbugs
Were playing a game of ball

The score was ten to nothing
The skeeters were a head
The bed bugs hit a home run
And knocked me out of bed

Singing eenie meenie and a miney moe
Catch a whipper whopper by his toe
And if he hollers, hollers, hollers
Don’t let him go
Singing eenie, meenie and a miney moe.


* On a personal note, I remember singing this song on the way to camp many summers as a camper. I don’t remember all of the words to the other verses, but this song will always remind me of the anticipation in the last moments before a week at camp. -Larken

35 Comments

Filed under songs

35 responses to “Skeeters and the Bed Bugs

  1. A fellow camper

    How I learned it:

    I woke up Sunday morning
    and looked up on the wall
    the beatles and the bed bugs
    were playing a game of ball

    The score was seven-nothing
    The beatles were ahead
    The beatles hit a home run
    and knocked me out of bed

    I’m singing
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe (oh oh oh)
    catch a whipper-whopper by the toe (oh oh oh)
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go (oh oh oh)
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe

    I went downstairs to breakfast
    I ordered ham and eggs
    I ate so many eggs
    The ham rolled down my legs!

    I’m singing…

    My mother was a German
    My father was a spy
    And if you don’t believe me
    Just call the FBI

    I’m singing…

    I fell into the sewer
    That’s where I plan to die
    Some people call it murder
    I call it sewer-cide

    I’m singing…

    • rere

      i am a girl scout and we sing it this way:
      i woke up sunday morning and looked upon the wall
      the skeeters and the bed bugs were playing a game of ball
      the score was 6 to nothing the skeeters were ahead
      the bedbugs hit a home run and nocked me outa bed
      I’m singin’ eenie meenie and a
      minie mo
      catch a whipper \whopper
      by the toe and
      if he hollers hollers hollers
      let him go
      eenie meenie and a minie mo

      i went down town to breakfast i ordered ham and eggs i ate so many pickles the juice ran down my legs im singing….

      i walked around a corner not doing any harm along came a police man who grabbed me by the arm im singin…..

      they threw me in the sewer and that is how i died they didn’t cal it murder they called it sewer- side im singin……

  2. Pingback: Blog Goes the Dynamite! » Bedbugs & Beetles, or Skeeters?…

  3. Denise

    I learned this from my grandpa!

    I was standin’ on the corner, not doin’ any harm
    Along came a policeman and took me by the arm
    He took me to a little house and rang a tiny bell
    Along came a lizzie and took me to the jail

    I woke up in the mornin’ and looked up on the wall
    The skeeters and the bedbugs were havin’ a game of ball
    The score was four to nothing the skeeters were ahead
    The bedbugs knocked a homerun and knocked me out of bed

    I went downstairs to breakfast
    The bread was hard and stale
    The coffee taste like tobacco juice
    At the Benefit County jail

    There were more verses, but can’t recall them now!

  4. Nicholas Thompson

    I woke up sunday morning,
    I looked upon the wall.
    The bedbugs and the skeeters,
    were playin’ a game of ball.

    The score was 2 to nothing,
    the skeeters were ahead.
    The bedbugs make a HOMERUN,
    which knocked outta bed.

    Singing…
    Eener meener and a miner moe,
    catch a whipper whopper by it’s toe,
    and if he hollers hollers hollers,
    don’t let him go singin’
    Eener meener and a miner moe.

    I went downstairs to breakfast,
    I ordered ham and eggs.
    I ate so many pickles,
    the juice ran down my legs.

    I’m Singing…
    Eener meener and a miner moe,
    catch a whipper whopper by it’s toe,
    and if he hollers hollers hollers,
    don’t let him go singin’
    Eener meener and a miner moe.

    I went out to the bus stop,
    the bus was always there.
    I looked down at the tires,
    and out came all the air.

    I’m Singing…
    Eener meener and a miner moe,
    catch a whipper whopper by it’s toe,
    and if he hollers hollers hollers,
    don’t let him go singin’
    Eener meener and a miner moe.

    My mother is an Agent,
    my father is a spy.
    And I’m the little stinker,
    who called the FBI.

    Singing…
    Eener meener and a miner moe,
    catch a whipper whopper by it’s toe,
    and if he hollers hollers hollers,
    don’t let him go singin’
    Eener meener and a miner moe.

    • gen

      On the bus in 3rd grade here is what we sang:

      I woke up monday morning to see what I could see, I looked above my headboard and a bumblebee jumped out at me!

      Singing…
      Eener meener and a miner moe,
      catch a whipper whopper by it’s toe,
      and if he hollers hollers hollers,
      don’t let him go singin’
      Eener meener and a miner moe.

      I went downstairs to breakfast,
      I ordered ham and eggs.
      I ate so many pickles,
      the juice ran down my legs.

      Singing…
      Eener meener and a miner moe,
      catch a whipper whopper by it’s toe,
      and if he hollers hollers hollers,
      don’t let him go singin’
      Eener meener and a miner moe.

      I went out to the bus stop,
      the bus was always there.
      I looked down at the tires,
      and out came all the air.

      and then… i forgot the rest. It’s awesome this song has so many variations!

  5. Lynne

    My dad taught me this but I’m missing a few sentences — can anybody help?

    Oh, I remember when I was just a bum
    I rode up to Harlem to meet my little chum
    I got full of beer, I couldn’t hardly steer

    da da da da da da da da
    da da da da da da

    5 o’clock in the morning the jailer came around
    He fed you hot potatoes that nearly knocked you down
    The coffee tastes like tobacco juice
    The bread is hard and stale
    Thats the way they treat you in the Monmouth County Jail.

    (there exists an inconsistency with Harlem and Monmouth County Jail also — can anybody help, please?

  6. drake

    i sing this song at camp every year:

    one morning when i woke up
    i looked upon my wall
    the skeeters and the bed bugs
    were playing a game of ball

    the score was 9 to 20
    the skeeters were ahead
    the bed bugs hit a home run and knocked me out of bed

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a bed bug bed bug by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go
    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

    i went down stairs for breakfast
    i ordered ham and eggs
    i at so many eggs
    that they all ran down my legs

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a bed bug bed bug by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go
    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

    I went upstair to get dressed
    i opened up my door.
    my tuttie lu underwear
    was dancing on the floor

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a bed bug bed bug by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go
    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

    i fell into a the gutter
    i layed there ’til i died
    some people call it murder
    i call it sewer-cide

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a bed bug bed bug by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go
    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

  7. Marni "Spaz" Doerfler

    This is the version we sang :)

    i woke up Sunday morning
    i looked upon my wall
    the skeeters and the bed bugs
    were playing a game of ball

    the score was 6 to nothin’
    the skeeters were ahead
    the bed bugs hit a home run and knocked me out of bed

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a bed bug bed bug by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    don’t let him go
    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

    i went down to the kitchen
    i ordered ham and eggs
    i ate so many pickles
    the juice ran down my legs

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a bed bug bed bug by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    don’t let him go
    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

    i went down to the bus stop
    the bus was standing there
    i knelt down by the tires
    and let out all the air

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a bed bug bed bug by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    don’t let him go
    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

  8. Marni "Spaz" Doerfler

    Correction:

    We sang “Whipper Whopper by his toe”

    oops!

  9. anne

    ok, i got this from elementary school. my version is similar to the rest, but i remember it distinctly.

    i woke up monday morning and there upon my wall
    the skeeters and the bed bugs were playing a game of ball.
    the score was 2 to nothing, the skeeters were ahead
    the bedbugs hit a home run, and knocked me outta bed

    i’m singing eener meener and a miner mo
    catch a whipper snapper by his toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers don’t let him go
    i’m singing eener meener and a miner mo

    i went down stairs for breakfast,
    i ordered ham and eggs
    i ate so many pickles
    the juice ran down my legs

    -im singing-

    my mother is a russian
    my father is a spy
    and i’m the little big mouth
    who told the fbi

    -im singing-

    (and of course we went through every day of the week)

  10. Summer Kids Version

    This is how i learned it, at a place called summer kids.

    On the (boom boom boom)’s, you had to pat another persons head.

    I woke up Sunday morning,
    I looked up on the wall.
    The Beatles and the bed bugs
    were having a game of ball.
    The score was six to nothing,
    the beatles were ahead.
    A beatle hit a home run,
    and knocked me outta bed!

    I’m singing
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe (boom boom boom)
    catch a whipper-whopper by the toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go (boom boom boom)
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe

    I went down for breakfast,
    I ordered ham and eggs!
    I ate so many scrambled eggs,
    they all ran down my legs!

    I’m singing
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe (boom boom boom)
    catch a whipper-whopper by the toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go (boom boom boom)
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe.

    I fell down the sewer,
    I almost lost my life!
    Some people call it murder,
    but I call it suicide!

    I’m singing
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe (boom boom boom)
    catch a whipper-whopper by the toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go (boom boom boom)
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe

    My father is a Russian,
    My mother is a spy!
    And if you don’t believe me,
    just call the FBI!

    I’m singing
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe (boom boom boom)
    catch a whipper-whopper by the toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go (boom boom boom)
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe

    My father is a butcher,
    My mom’s a piece of meat,
    And I’m a little hotdog that’s
    Running down the street!

    I’m singing
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe (boom boom boom)
    catch a whipper-whopper by the toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go (boom boom boom)
    eenie-meenie and a minie moe

    The End

  11. Casey B

    I woke up sunday morning
    and looked up on the wall
    the skeeters and the bedbugs
    were having game of ball

    The score was 10 to 20
    the bed bugs were ahead
    the skeeters hit a home run
    and knocked me out of bed

    singing
    eeny meeny meeny miney moe
    catch a whiffer waffer by the toe
    and if he hollers, hollers, hollers
    let him go singing,
    eeny meeny meeny, money moe

    I went downstairs for breakfast
    I ordered ham and eggs,
    I ate so many pickles,
    the juice ran down my legs

    singing
    eeny meeny meeny miney moe
    catch a whiffer waffer by the toe
    and if he hollers, hollers, hollers
    let him go singing,
    eeny meeny meeny, money moe

    My mother is a commie
    my father is a spy
    but me I’m just a big mouth,
    i called the FBI

    singing
    eeny meeny meeny miney moe
    catch a whiffer waffer by the toe
    and if he hollers, hollers, hollers
    let him go singing,
    eeny meeny meeny, money moe

    They threw me in the sewer,
    they left me there to die
    some people called it murder
    I call it “sewer-cide”!

    singing
    eeny meeny meeny miney moe
    catch a whiffer waffer by the toe
    and if he hollers, hollers, hollers
    let him go singing,
    eeny meeny meeny, money moe

  12. Terri

    I don’t know how I have such a different version:

    One morning when I woke up,
    And there upon the wall,
    The bedbugs and the roaches,
    Were playing a game of ball.

    The score was 19-20,
    The roaches were ahead,
    The bedbugs hit a homerun,
    and knocked me outta bed, singing

    Einey meiney meiney
    Miney Moe Moe Moe Moe
    Catch a pickle pickle
    By his toe toe toe toe
    If he hollers hollers
    Let him go go go go
    Go team, go team, go o o o HEY

    I think my sister made it into a cheer! :)

  13. AliciaJ

    I remember this version from Girl Scouts…It’s been a LONG time since I was in GS, but I still remember this….

    I woke up Sunday Morning,
    And there upon my wall,
    The Skeeters and the Bedbugs
    Were playing a game of ball.

    The score was 19 – 20
    The Skeeters were ahead.
    The Bedbugs hit a homerun,
    And knocked me out of bed.

    Singing…eenie meenie meenie mynie mo….Catch a bedbug bedbug by his toe and if he hollers hollers hollers, let him go, singing…eenie meenie meenie mynie moe

    My mother is a German,
    My Father is a Spy,
    And me, the little tattle-tale
    I told the FBI!

    Singing…eenie meenie meenie mynie mo….Catch a bedbug bedbug by his toe and if he hollers hollers hollers, let him go, singing…eenie meenie meenie mynie moe

    I woke up in the sewer
    And that is where I died
    They didn’t call it murder,
    They called it Sewer-cide!!!

    Singing…eenie meenie meenie mynie mo….Catch a bedbug bedbug by his toe and if he hollers hollers hollers, let him go, singing…eenie meenie meenie mynie moe…HO!!!!

  14. Franklin Stahl

    The song below was song by my father Mel (of Watsontown, PA) & Ben Savidge (resided at Worleysburg, PA near Harrisburg) at Turbotville High School abt. 1945. The teacher, Mr. Cub Menges wanted my father to sing something in particular since the Stahls were known for singing (older sister Hilda & Bob). Mel was one of the few boys in the class. Ben & he sang this song with guitars. Mr. Cub Menges was not happy with this choice of song. The song was supposedly told to the Stahl family from Mel’s Aunt Nellie Stahl (1882-1944). The song was apparently passed on to others in the community because a boy (abt. 1998) riding on Mel’s school (Warrior Run Area School District) bus during a field trip began singing it one day. These are the lyrics my father remembers, though he says he thinks there are other verses or words, perhaps:

    “One day when I was hungry I went down Baker’s Street,
    And I stopped at Mrs. Casey’s house and asked for something to eat.
    The pigs were in the parlor, the chickens behind the door,
    The baby’s fingers in the soup a smearin’ it on the floor.
    Went to bed that evening, gazed upon the wall,
    The roaches and the bed bugs were havin’ a game of ball.
    The score was 7-20, the roaches were ahead, a big bug hit a home run
    And knocked me out of bed.
    I went down to breakfast, the bread was hard as nail,
    The coffee like tobacco juice, just like they serve in jail.”

  15. Andrea

    Man…I loved this song, though now I can’t remember all of the verses…

    I woke up Sunday Morning,
    I looked upon the wall.
    The Skeeter and the Bedbugs
    Were playing a game of ball!

    The score was one to nothing
    The Skeeters were ahead
    The Bedbugs hit a home run
    And knocked me out of bed!

    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo
    Catch a whipper-whopper
    By it’s toe
    And if he holla-holla-hollers
    Don’t let him go
    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo

    I went downstairs to Breakfast
    And ordered ham & eggs
    I ate so many pickles
    The juice ran down my legs

    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo
    Catch a whipper-whopper
    By it’s toe
    And if he holla-holla-hollers
    Don’t let him go
    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo

    My father is the butcher
    My mother cuts the meat
    And I’m a little hot dog
    A’ Running down the street

    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo
    Catch a whipper-whopper
    By it’s toe
    And if he holla-holla-hollers
    Don’t let him go
    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo

    My mother is a Russian
    My father is a spy
    I bundled up the courage
    And called the FBI

    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo
    Catch a whipper-whopper
    By it’s toe
    And if he holla-holla-hollers
    Don’t let him go
    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo

    My Mother gave me a nickel
    My Father gave me a dime
    My sister stole my boyfriend
    And left me Frankenstein

    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo
    Catch a whipper-whopper
    By it’s toe
    And if he holla-holla-hollers
    Don’t let him go
    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo

    I went back to my bedroom
    To catch the finial score
    The bedbugs struck all through the day
    To win it five to four.

    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo
    Catch a whipper-whopper
    By it’s toe
    And if he holla-holla-hollers
    Don’t let him go
    I’m singing..
    Einer Mener and a Minor Mo

  16. Mandy

    I woke up in the morning
    Looked upon the wall
    The roaches and the bed bugs
    were having a game of ball

    The score was six to nothing
    The roaches were ahead
    The bed bugs hit a homerun
    And knocked me out of bed

    I’m singin’
    Eeenie Meenie and a Minee Moe
    Catch a wiffer-waffer
    By its toe and if it
    Hollars, hollars, hollars
    Let it go
    I’m singin’
    Eenie Meenie and a Minee Moe

    I went downtown for breakfast
    Ordered Ham and Eggs
    I ate so many pickles
    The juice ran down my legs

    I fell into a sewer
    and that is where I died
    They did not call it murder
    They called it Sewer-cide

    I’m singin…

  17. whit

    I woke sunday morning
    I looked upon the wall
    The skeeters and the bed bugs
    were playing a game of ball

    The score was two to nothing
    The skeeters were ahead
    The bed bugs hit a homerun
    And knocked me out of bed

    I’m singin’
    Eeenie Meenie Minee
    Minee Moe
    Catch a wipper-wopper
    By its toe and if it
    Hollars, hollars, hollars
    Don’t let it go
    I’m singin’
    Eeenie Meenie Minee
    Minee Moe

    I have a little sister
    Her name is Susie Q
    I put her in the bathtub
    To see what she could do
    She drank up all the water
    She ate up all the soap
    She tried to eat the bathtub
    But it wouldn’t go down her throat

    I’m singin’
    Eeenie Meenie Minee
    Minee Moe
    Catch a wipper-wopper
    By its toe and if it
    Hollars, hollars, hollars
    Don’t let it go
    I’m singin’
    Eeenie Meenie Minee
    Minee Moe

    I have a little brother
    His name is Johnny Q
    I put him in the river to what he could do
    I tied his feet together
    I gagged him with a sock
    He sank right to the bottom
    I hit him with a rock

    I’m singin’
    Eeenie Meenie Minee
    Minee Moe
    Catch a wipper-wopper
    By its toe and if it
    Hollars, hollars, hollars
    Don’t let it go
    I’m singin’
    Eeenie Meenie Minee
    Minee Moe

    My mother is a russian
    My father is a spy
    And i’m the big fat mouth
    That told the FBI

    I’m singin’
    Eeenie Meenie Minee
    Minee Moe
    Catch a wipper-wopper
    By its toe and if it
    Hollars, hollars, hollars
    Don’t let it go
    I’m singin’
    Eeenie Meenie Minee
    Minee Moe

  18. Jessica

    the version i learned was a lot like most of yours

    i woke up Sunday morning
    i looked upon my wall
    the skeeters and the bed bugs
    were playing a game of ball

    the score was 6 to nothin’
    the skeeters were ahead
    the bed bugs hit a home run and knocked me out of bed

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a bed bug bed bug by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    don’t let him go
    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

    i went down to the kitchen
    i ordered ham and eggs
    i ate so many pickles
    the juice ran down my legs

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a bed bug bed bug by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    don’t let him go
    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

    my mother is a policeman
    my father is a spy

    (and its something like))
    and now that ive told you
    i think im gonna die

    does anyone know that version??

  19. brit830462

    Okay, in softball we sing this cheer. It’s a personal favorite. Here’s our version:

    I woke up one day morning
    and there upon the wall
    the critters and the bedbugs were havin’ a game of ball.
    the score was 19-20
    the critters were ahead
    the bedbugs hit a grandslam which kncked me outta bed
    singin eeny meeny and a miney mo
    catch a whippersnapper by his toe if he hollers hollers DONT let ‘em go singing eeny meeny and a miney mo
    i went dowstairs that morning my coffee black as ink
    my sausage did a flip flop and flew into the sink
    i tried to go to find it but fell into the sewer
    i layed there till the time i died
    and i like to call it sewercide
    (repeat eeny meeny part)
    my mommy shes an immigrant
    my daddys hes a spy
    me with my big fat mouth i told the FBI
    (eeny meeny part repeat)
    ‘Cuz it all started when i woke up one day morning….(repeat until end of 1st eeny meeny)

    Well byeee
    BrIt (:

  20. Rebecca&Laura

    Here is another verse we’ve sang the song with:

    My mother is Godzilla
    My father is King Kong
    and they’re the cutest couple
    that ever came along

  21. Sofia

    I woke up Sunday morning
    I looked up on the wall
    the beatles and the beg bugs
    were havin’ a game of ball
    the score was six to nothin’
    the beatles were ahead
    the beg bugs hit a HOME RUN!
    and knocked me out of bed

    I’m singin’ eenie meenie and a
    minie mo mo mo mo
    catch a whopper snapper
    by the toe toe toe toe
    if he hollers hollers
    let him go go go go
    eenie meenie and a minie mo

    I went downstairs to breakfast
    I ordered ham and eggs
    I ate so many EGGS!
    they all ran down my legs

    I’m singin’ eenie meenie and a
    minie mo mo mo mo
    catch a whopper snapper
    by the toe toe toe toe
    if he hollers hollers
    let him go go go go
    eenie meenie and a minie mo

    my mother is a martian
    my father is a spy
    aunt? *unintelligable someting* is a big mouth
    I called the FBI

    I’m singin’ eenie meenie and a
    minie mo mo mo mo
    catch a whopper snapper
    by the toe toe toe toe
    if he hollers hollers
    let him go go go go
    eenie meenie and a minie mo

    my mother is Godzilla
    my father is king kong
    and they’re the cutest couple
    that ever came along

    I’m singin’ eenie meenie and a
    minie mo mo mo mo
    catch a whopper snapper
    by the toe toe toe toe
    if he hollers hollers
    let him go go go go
    eenie meenie and a minie mo

    I’m singin’ eenie meenie and a
    minie mo mo mo mo

  22. Tracy

    Here is my Dad’s version

    I woke up one morning and looked upon the wall
    The skeeters and bedbugs were having a game of ball
    The score was 6 to nothing
    The skeeters were a head
    The bedbugs hit a home run
    and knocked me out of bed

    Oh hambone oh hambone
    It ain’t gonna rain no more
    It rained last night the night before
    It ain’t gonna rain no more

    A rich man rides a taxi
    A poor man ride a train
    A hobo walks the railroad track
    and gets there just the same

    Oh hambone oh hambone
    It ain’t gonna rain no more
    It rained last night the night before
    It ain’t gonna rain no more

    A rich girl uses cold cream
    A poor girl uses lard
    but my girl uses axel grease
    and rubs it twice as hard

    Oh hambone oh hambone
    It ain’t gonna rain no more
    It rained last night the night before
    It ain’t gonna rain no more

  23. Jay

    I loved this camp song. The way I learned it is a variation of all the other posts.

  24. John Chatman

    This is how I learned it in middle school….

    I was standin’ on the corner, not doin’ any harm
    Along came a squad car, sounding the alarm,
    They cuffed me and shoved me, and they began to yell, They shoved me in the squad car and took me to my cell.

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a tiger by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go
    I’m singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

    I woke in bed the next morn’in
    and looked up on the wall
    the skeeters and the bed bugs were hav’in a game of ball
    the score was 6 to nuth’in the skeeters were ahead
    the bed bugs made a homerun that knocked me outta bed

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a tiger by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go
    I’m singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

    I went downstairs for breakfast, I ordered ham and eggs, I ate so many pickles, the juice ran down my legs

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a tiger by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go
    I’m singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

    The chicken that they serve us, they say it is the best, we get the necks and gizzards, the jailer gets the rest

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a tiger by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go
    I’m singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

    The buscuits that they made us, they said were mighty fine, but one rolled off the table and crushed a pal of mine

    singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe
    catch a tiger by it’s toe
    and if he hollers hollers hollers
    let him go
    I’m singin eenie meenie meenie miney moe

  25. Robert

    I still remember this from way back when at the YMCA summer camp near our home. Many years ago. However, does anyone know the name to this tune? I would really appreciate it! please email it to rtnguyen36@yahoo.com

    • Nat

      YA me too i need the tune! we are scraping up tons of songs for girls camp and i know for sure iv sang this before! but i just cant seem to get the tune right! i have the words but just no tune!

  26. JennyLynn Colter

    my dad taught it to me this way

    I woke up sunday morning
    i looked up on the wall
    the bed bugs and the skeeters
    were playing a game of ball

    the score was 19-20
    the skeeters were ahead
    the bed bugs hit a home run
    and knoked me out of bed

    im singing eenie meenie meenie minnie moe
    catch a wiffle wiffer snapper by his toe
    if he hollares
    never let him go
    eenie meenie meenie minnie moe

  27. Daphne

    Here’s the one I learned:

    I woke up Sunday morning, I looked up on the wall
    The skeeters and the bed bugs were playing a game of ball.
    The score was 6 to nothin’, the skeeters were ahead,
    The bed bugs hit a home run and knocked me outta bed, I’m singin’

    Eenie meenie and a minie mo
    Catch a whippersnapper by his toe
    And if he Hollers, hollers, hollers
    let him go, I’m singin’
    Eenie meenie and a minie mo.

    I went downstairs for breakfast,
    I ordered scrambled eggs,
    but when my waiter brought my eggs,
    my scrambled eggs had legs, I’m singin’

    (Chorus)

    My mother is a martian, my father is a spy
    And me I had a big mouth, I told the FBI, I’m singin’

    (Chorus)

    I fell into a sewer, I stayed until I died
    Some people call it murder,
    I call it sewer-cide, I’m singin’

    (Chorus)

  28. Greeetings!
    The “Bedbug & Roaches” songs are really old. Versions of this song can be traced to the mid 1930s with floating verses from other songs that are much older than that. One source of these songs that is quite recognizable is the “eenie meenie minie mo” counting out rhyme. Other sources are verses from the African American song “Ain’t Gonna Rain No More”. The frog in the R
    The tune used for the Bed Bugs song (“I Woke Up Sunday Morning”) is the same tune as “Miss Susie Had A Steamboat”. And that tune is the same as “Miss Lucy Had A Baby” (the rhyme that includes the lines “out goes the doctor, out goes the nurse, out goes the lady with the alligator purse). And that tune is the same as “Aint Gonna Rain No More” and that tune is the same as the religious song “Aint Gonna Grieve, My Lord, No More”.

    You can see verses from the “Miss Susie Had A Steamboat” and “Miss Lucy Had A Baby” rhyme in versions that people have posted on your page. As a community (volunteer) folklorist, I’m loving this!

    If you’re interested in some old versions of “I Woke Up Sunday Morning” click http://www.cocojams.com/content/schoolyard-taunts
    All examples on that site are family centered and are posted to help preserve them for the folkloric record. I took the liberty of adding several examples from your site to that page. Each one has a hyperlink to this page. If you prefer that I remove your examples, I will do so.

    Thank!

    • clh

      Wow, this is really interesting stuff. Thanks for sharing the history. I’d found it to be an intriguing phenomenon that so many people have shared their versions of this song here. I’m glad you’ve also found it interesting.

      Thanks!
      Larken

  29. Sorry I started to write that some older versions of “The Bed Bug Song” and verses of “Aint Gonna Rain No More” contain a verse from the very large and very old “Frog In The Well” family of rhymes that has evolved to the “Down By The Banks Of The Hanky Panky”. For instance the verse:
    “Froggy sitting on lillie Pad, looking up at the sky, the lillie pad broke,and he fell in got water in his eye.”

    Enjoy!

  30. jax

    mistakes: its ”the bedbugs and the beezers” not ”the skeeters and the bed bugs” and its”the BEDBUGS were a head the BEEZERS hit a home run”

  31. Dawn McCall

    Here is the version I learned. Similar, yet so different.

    I woke up Sunday morning and looked upon the wall
    The skeeters and the bedbugs were havin’ a game of ball
    The score was 9 to nothing, the skeeters were ahead
    The bedbugs his a homerun and knocked me out of bed

    Singing, eenny meany meany miney mo
    Catch a riffle raffle by his toe
    And when he hollars, hollars, hollars let him go
    singing, eenny meany meany miney mo

    I went downstairs for breakfast
    The toast was hard and stale
    The coffee tastes like tobacco juice
    Straight from the county jail
    With automatic butter and automatic cheese
    Peanut butter celery and double jointed peas

    Singing, eenny meany meany miney mo
    Catch a riffle raffle by his toe
    And when he hollars, hollars, hollars let him go
    singing, eenny meany meany miney mo